My Nerdy Reading Habit: It’s All My Parents’ Fault by Jennifer D. Sniadecki

Great tips for parents who want to encourage kids to love reading (just be willing to take the blame!)

Nerdy Book Club

I don’t mean to place blame; they would probably deny it, but I am telling you, it’s all my parents’ fault.

My nerdy reading habit began before I could read by myself. Mom and Dad were readers. Dad came home from work each night and after we ate dinner, he would spread the newspaper out and read. My sister and I used to ask Mom what was in the paper, and she would tell us some of the main stories of the day. She also saved the color comics section on Sundays. We would “read” the pictures of Snoopy, and I even thought the guy from Doonesbury must resemble my Dad when he was at work. Mom gave us books as birthday presents. In the car, she played books on tape from the library while we ran to the grocery store. When my sister and I got into trouble, we…

View original post 927 more words

One thought on “My Nerdy Reading Habit: It’s All My Parents’ Fault by Jennifer D. Sniadecki

Leave a Reply

